Question: Which U.S. president banned the Christmas tree from the White House?

Which U.S. president banned the Christmas tree from the White House?

– Calvin Coolidge
– Teddy Roosevelt
– Barack Obama
– Dwight Eisenhower

U.S. President Theodore “Teddy” Roosevelt was an avowed environmentalist and outdoorsman. He came into office at a time when public concern over deforestation was mounting. In some areas of the country, and some of Roosevelt’s political enemies, viewed the cutting down and displaying of Christmas trees as a blatant example of unnecessary commercial destruction of forests. Roosevelt refused to display a Christmas tree so as not to provide fodder for his opponents’ attacks or draw the ire of the public. Source:

Teddy Roosevelt

Theodore Roosevelt Jr. was an American statesman, author, explorer, soldier, and naturalist, who served as the 26th President of the United States from 1901 to 1909.
Born: 27 October 1858, Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States
Died: 6 January 1919, Sagamore Hill, Town of Oyster Bay, New York, United States
Children: Alice Roosevelt Longworth, Kermit Roosevelt, MORE
Political party: Republican Party
Believe you can and you’re halfway there.
Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.
Speak softly and carry a big stick; you will go far.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *